Mommyville

25 Aug

My day job is being a social media manager for businesses. I own my own company and I work from home. I absolutely love what I do….finally!

But my most important job is being a wife to Colin and a mother to Isabelle and Lelia aka Facebook Five Year Old and Techno Toddler.

Isabelle and Lelia fill my world with light and life and our little family is all I could have ever asked for.

My husband is the yin to my yang.  For every check I bounce, he pays a bill in full and on time.  For every new smartphone I wish to buy, he longs to throw out his 4 year old little clamshell dinosaur phone.  For every computer I look longingly upon, he spins another record out of his 3,000+ collection of vinyl. We work together well.

I work from home because I want to be my children’s primary care provider.  No mother can do it all and there is guilt in every decision a mother makes and I’m no different. I am in awe of any woman who stays at home full time. I couldn’t do it. I need to work to fill some other part of me that doesn’t get filled by being a mom.  But I want to be the kind of mom that goes on field trips and stays home with a sick kid and attends every event in which my children will be showcased as an athlete or performer.  And I want to be able to do it without having to make concessions to a boss.

Bar none, being a mother is the hardest job I’ve ever had.

I of course, think that my children are brilliantly smart and wickedly funny. And I’m right because I’m their mother and it’s my job to be their biggest champion so don’t argue these points with me.

They also annoy the shit out of me.  For serious.  On a daily basis.

And every time they do, I’m reminded that this must have been what it was like for my mother.  Because I was smart, funny, precocious kid who sassed err sasses the crap out of her mother on a daily basis.  Because who else besides your children will remind you that you’re not perfect but you’re perfect enough for them?

This blog is for me to talk about the Mom side of my life.  If you want to hear about work please visit MollyWhiteMarketing.com

One Response to “Mommyville”

  1. Mr WordPress August 25, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

