Netflix is my Babysitter

25 Aug

I work about 30 hours a week these days.  And I work them all from the comfort of my home.  I also have an almost 3 year old and an almost 5 year old.

Recently, my parenting savior has been 2 little pieces of technology that I can thank the now resigned, CEO of Apple, Steve Jobs for: The iPad and the ipod touch.  These devices combined with our streaming subscription to Netflix allow my children to watch a never ending selection of cartoons and kid shows while simultaneously preventing me from having to watch those same programs.

We watch a lot of TV in this house and during the day, my kids control the remote, so we watch Disney or Nickelodeon. I’ve seen more episodes of Dora, Little Einsteins and Spongebob than should be legally allowed.  I hate cartoons and I really hate children’s cartoons.  I’m also not very fond of any of the sing song programs like The FreshBeats and The Wiggles.

Thanks to Netflix and the iPad and iPod, I don’t have to turn the TV on anymore and my kids can each watch whatever they want.  No more fights over what program to put on the TV, no more TV noise crowding the room, just two happy quiet kids and one hardworking mom, getting it done!

Leave a Reply

