Shopaholic

27 Oct

The birthdays have passed, Halloween costumes are complete, my work is at a manageable level and my sewing machine is in the shop.  This is NOT GOOD for my wallet.

I have a shopping problem.  I can curtail it most of the time, it’s best if I’m busy too.  But right now there’s nothing standing between me and my shopping binges.  It’s focused on home elements right now due to my recent fascination with sewing.  And thanks to Pinterest my creative juices are working on overtime.  I’m desperate to create things and make my home new.

Yesterday’s shopping involved a trip to IKEA where I procured this rack to hang on our metal kitchen shelves.

As well as some hooks from which to hang things off of the shelves.  I’m using the shelf to hold our bread and the hooks are holding up pans, lids, and bananas.

I also found this mirror.

Which I will be painting bright pink and hanging in my dining room.  There are future plans to reupholster the chairs myself and make some wide pink and white striped curtains in an effort to make my dining room a more casual environment.  I’m taking my color palette from my love of pink and from our monogrammed china.

I also found some great frames for my children’s silhouettes.

I’m still debating whether or not to turn those black.  What do you think?

The day before, I shopped at Target and got some bright pink and grass green 8 x 10 picture frames, which I will use to frame our fabulous family photos from the beach this summer.  9 pictures in a square pattern, alternating the pink and green frames, also for the dining room.

I’m stalling the urge to shop now, by writing this blog post, because in reality, there is nothing I need, but if I leave my house now, I will go to a store and I will almost certainly, find something to buy.  For no reason.

Also, I could be cleaning my house, doing laundry, or any number of productive things to prevent the shopping, but I’m not b/c I hate all of those things with a passion.

2 Responses to “Shopaholic”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week in Review « Technology and TuTu's - November 4, 2011

    […] spray painted the IKEA mirror and hung it in the dining room.  It exceeded my expectations and looks awesome.  i’m on a […]

  2. Week in Review - November 17, 2011

    […] spray painted the IKEA mirror and hung it in the dining room.  It exceeded my expectations and looks awesome.  i’m on a […]

Leave a Reply

