Pumpkins, Pictures and PJ’s

31 Oct

Lots going on around here!  We spent the weekend in Rehoboth for the Sea Witch Festival, but most of it was canceled due to rain.  So we came home early on Sunday.  We ran into terrible traffic due to a downed power line on 50 and after spending 4+ hours in the car, everyone was anxious to do something!  The girls played with the neighbors, and I got busy hanging the photos that we took at the beach this Summer.  I found the frames on the cheap from target, they were $2.78 for a 2 pack! And then I ordered my prints from Shutterfly.  I used blue painteres tape to mark out the spacing and then eyeballed it up from there, no measuring tape or level needed.

It adds to the pink and green theme in the dining room and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out!

Next up was pumpkin carving.  I let the girls draw the faces on their pumpkins (I assisted Lelia) and then I carved them out.  Once they saw the triangle cutouts of the eyes, they asked to add them to the top as ears and transform their pumpkins in to cats, I think they were inspired by their cat hats from PappaDoc and Karen.  What do you think?

Of course, pumpkin carving wouldn’t be complete without the roasting of the pumpkin seeds.  My tried and true method is to rinse the pulp off the seeds, pat them dry with a dishtowel, cover a baking sheet with tin foil, lay the seeds on the sheet, and toss with a little Old Bay.  Bake at 375 for about 15 minutes, tossing once mid-bake. And the result is heaven in a bowl:

After the girlies went to bed I got to work on sewing my first set of PJ’s! I read this tutorial from Pinterest.  Then I followed the same principle for the shirt, and referenced this pattern from Oliver & S.  But didn’t follow a pattern, just made it up as I went along.  Patterns scare me.

I used Fancy Nancy fabric b/c Iz loves Fancy Nancy, and of course, since my attention to detail is not great, I cut the legs out upside down.  Oops.  But Isabelle didn’t notice this morning and was quite happy with her PJ’s! Today I will sew some for Lelia and I am FOR SURE going to be sewing their Christmas jammies this year! But I’m thinking about going with a night shirt instead.

2 Responses to “Pumpkins, Pictures and PJ’s”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Dress aka I Made Puffy Sleeves! « Technology and TuTu's - November 11, 2011

    […] begun my renewed interest in sewing. I went from an A-line dress, to PJ’s and then got bold and purchased the Precious Dress pattern from the Scientific Seamstress.  I even […]

  2. Christmas Dress aka I Made Puffy Sleeves! - November 14, 2011

    […] begun my renewed interest in sewing. I went from an A-line dress, to PJ’s and then got bold and purchased the Precious Dress pattern from the Scientific Seamstress.  I even […]

Leave a Reply

