Image

Week in Review

4 Nov

Dining Room Mirror

I spray painted the IKEA mirror and hung it in the dining room.  It exceeded my expectations and looks awesome.  i’m on a tear now to complete the dining room makeover!

One coat of primer and one of the pink was all it took.

One coat of primer

Finished product, Hung!

Shoes from Ebay

I can thank Pinterest not only for my crafty indulgences but also for helping my shopping habit.  This week someone posted a picture of adorable bright orange ballet flats with an $11.50 price tag! I had to check them out and once I did I felt compelled to purchase them in pink and orange.  They arrived TODAY and are beyond precious! Cheaply made as the day is long, but who cares!

One of each color!

They’ll look super cute with my navy blue dress tomorrow when my husband and I go out to dinner!

Christmas Clothes Making

I looked and looked and finally found a pattern for the girls Christmas dresses, the Precious Dress Pattern from the Scientific Seamstress.  She also makes the tunic patterns that I’m eager to try and works with a fabric designer named Jennifer Paganelli, whose fabrics are right up my alley.  And the BEST part, she’s local! I reached out to her to see if she would help me through any rough spots and she was sooo super duper kind and nice about it and said YES!!!

I plan to adapt the dress a little for a surprise in the back (inspired of course, by a Pinterest post).

So the next part of the dresses, was to find the fabric. I searched for HOURS on the interwebs and came up with lots of possibilities but not winners.  And then I found Tanya Whalen and fell in love!   I found one vendor who had enough of the fabrics that I wanted and ordered them earlier this week.  They too arrived today! Take a peek! I can’t wait to get to work on them.

I plan to use the red as the main fabric and the other two as accent fabric.

Since I got the dresses squared away I set to work finding just the right flannel to construct Christmas PJ’s for the girls, and since I was going to make them, I figured I’d make some for me and for Colin as well.  When I asked him last night if He’d wear them Christmas morning, he was super excited about it!  (Normally he gets all dressed before he comes downstairs so this is nice of him).  It’s tough to find a gender neutral fabric that is festive and fun that we’ll all like, but I settled on this Grinch fabric and Colin approved it.  Finding enough yardage was a challenge, but the Cotton Blossom Farm on Etsy came through for me!

I’m looking forward to starting these projects and am curious to see how I fair.  With each I will have to learn to make buttonholes and I’d like to work on my finishing skills, a la a zig zag stitch and more pressing of the seams.  I really like sewing and the fact that it makes me slow down and think about each step.  It’s good for my lack of attention to detail.  Makes me pay attention to the details a little more.

Anyway that’s the sum of the week here at the White House.  Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

