Image

Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon

20 Nov

Yesterday I got to run in the Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon with one of my best friends.  Even though she has a run a marathon (the inaugural Baltimore Running Festival in 2000) she had never run a Half before, and hadn’t run more than 6 miles since the Baltimore marathon, until she started training.  It was the first half marathon that I got to do with a friend and it made it so much more fun!

My friend Suzanne let us sleep at her house since she lives close to the start and finish of the course.  Selden and I got up at 5:45 and due to traffic right by the stadium, we parked at a little shopping center across from the stadium.  We lined up (there were supposed to be waves, but there weren’t any) and because of that traffic, the race was delayed from starting on time and started 15 minutes late.

Waiting for the race to start

We took off and Selden ran ahead since she’s a faster runner than I.  By mile one I had shed long sleeve shirt and by mile 2 I had taken off my short sleeve shirt as well.  While the streets were lined with spectators and cheering people dressed in gloves scarves, hats, coats and mittens, I ran along in capris and a tank.  The sun was shining and it was PERFECT weather for a race!

The first five miles of the course wound through Annapolis around the circle, down the main street and out to the bridge.  The bridge was inimidatingly steep and tall, but I decided that since I knew my pace was slow, I’d create other goals.  One of which was to conquer the bridge. I ran all the way to the top and was rewarded with a race photographer and what I hope will be a great photo.  Another, slightly vain goal, on this race, was to take a good race photo.

From the bridge we ran out about 2.5 miles and back.  Most of this time was spent looking for Selden. It was a great distraction because a good portion of this part of the run was on a very narrow trail.  On my side we were essentially single file and there wasn’t much to distract me other than scanning the other side for Selden.  Once I found her, we high fived and I struggled to keep running.  I was about 8 miles in and my legs were getting tired.  The single file line up was all that kept me going. I didn’t want to slow down those behind me so I just kept shuffling forward.  I should also mention that this was all on a slight incline.

The return to the bridge was mostly down hill with a few up hills.  I walked those.  I almost quit on the bridge ascent but a lovely woman told me to keep going and I did, all the way to the top.  I ran down the bridge and from there had less than a mile to the end of the course.  My legs were sore and tired so I combo ran walked the rest of the way. I found Selden about 50 feet from the finish line cheering me one and it helped immensely to keep me running until the end. The finish lines wasn’t very well marked and I wasn’t even positive it was the end until I actually crossed the timing mats.

Our race premium was a nice jacket and the race info promised additional premiums once we finished. Sure enough, right after I crossed the finish line I was given my medal and a great running hat!  Then I lined up and had my picture taken in front of a fancy step and repeat banner.

I found Selden, and we had someone take our picture together, both of us happy to have completed the race.

Proud Finishers of the Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Overall, this was a hilly course, and I hadn’t trained as much as I should have, so I knew going in that I wasn’t going to PR.  But like I said, I set other goals, and I accomplished those so I was happy to have completed the race.  It was my third official Half Marathon and my 4th unofficial. I finished in 2:24:28 and Selden finished in 2:11.

Here are the gory details of the course and my splits

Map of the Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon

 

My pace at the Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon

 

My Splits for the Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Oficial Time and Stats for the Inaugural Annapolis Half

 

Update: Here are the photos from the race

The fancy step and repeat at the Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Crossing the Finish Line at the Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Crossing the Finish Line at the Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Crossing the Finish Line at the Annapolis Half Marathon

 

Running down Main St at the Annapolis Half Marathon

 

 

3 Responses to “Inaugural Annapolis Half Marathon”

  1. Selden Morgan November 20, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I agree with everything Molly said. Doing a race with a friend is so much fun!! Yesterday was great, the weather was perfect. I will admit I really missed the mile markers but the course through beautiful dowtown Annapolis was a perfect distraction to the pain I was feeling. I am happy with my time and I promise myself next time I sign up for a half I will train better.

  2. Thomas November 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Congrats Molly. I love the medal.

    • MsMollyWhite November 23, 2011 at 1:48 am #

      Thanks Thomas!

Leave a Reply

