Image

Chair Re-Do

23 Nov

I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner!  Armed with a screw driver and a staple gun, I reupholstered my dining room and kitchen chairs today!

In between posting updates for clients, emailing clients, brainstorming contest ideas, fleshing out contest rules, and taking calls from clients.  Because that’s how I roll.

I ordered the fabric from Calico Corners.  For about $75 I got enough  indoor/outdoor (translation: I can easily clean it when my children spill food and drink) fabric to re-cover 4 kitchen chairs and 6 dining room chairs.

It was so simple to do, seriously!  First of all, 3/4 of a yard of fabric is more than enough to cover 2 chairs.

I cut my fabric into 3/4 yard increments, then cut those in half.

Next I unscrewed the base of the chair from the wooden part.

I laid the cushion upside down on top of the fabric and pulled the fabric to fit tightly around the edges, trimming the excess.

I started on the front edge of the cushion and stapled as I went.  The corners were the trickiest, but with a little pulling and folding I got a snug fit.

Then I screwed the cushions back into the wooden part of the chair.  And THAT’S IT!

Each chair took about 20 minutes from start to finish. So $75 and a little more than 3 hours later and my dining room and kitchen tables have a full makeover!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

