Image

Wine Cork Letter

26 Nov

Having seen all of these wine cork letters on my beloved Pinterest, I added them to my list of items to give people for Christmas.  Tonight I’m giving one early! A friend of mine is being married for the second time and while they didn’t register for any gifts, I couldn’t go to their wedding celebration empty handed.

I wanted to give them something small but something that would be significant to the two of them as they start their lives together.  I thought the wine cork letter would be nice since she is taking his last name. Having the same last name really represents a couples union. It’s cheesy I know, but I love sharing my name with my husband and now with my children.  It’s something we all share.

At any rate, I got to work on the project.  First pulling up photoshop elements .  It’s the best kept secret in the world! It costs a mere $90 (as compared to the $600 full fledged photoshop) and contains all of the elements of photoshop that I need for work and play. And it’s 50% off until November 29th!!!

I opened a Legal sized document, selected a font that I liked, American Typewriter, and blew up the letter until it filled the page.  Then I printed it out and grabbed my husband’s bag o’ corks.

I laid the corks out on top of the printed letter, taking some creative license to enlarge the letter just a bit.  I glued each cork to the corks next to it, working from the top of the letter down to the bottom.

20 minutes later and my letter was complete! For reference, the letter is about 15 inches tall.

2 Responses to “Wine Cork Letter”

  1. Melissa Case November 26, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    This is GREAT, Molly! I need to dive back in to Pinterest — everyone always finds the most creative things in there. Anyway, I have collected corks for years; this is a great project!

    • MsMollyWhite November 26, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Thank you! And yes you definitely need to get on Pinterest! Not only are there awesome creative things on there but there are also yummy recipes!

Leave a Reply

