Gallery

Tutorial | 18″ Doll Sleeping Bag

6 Dec

 

The girls have a long list of American Girl Doll requests for Christmas and to ease the cost of the  all of the accouterment, I decided I’d make some of it myself. Plus I love being able to make it just exactly how I’d like it, color combo’s and all.

On a side note, I’ve decided that sewing is even better than shopping as a form of therapy.  You get to enjoy the shoppers high, because for me, it’s the thrill of the hunt, and I can spend hours hunting fabric and patterns and inspiration.  And then there’s the satisfaction of making it yourself.  And again, the idea that I can find something to make, and tweak it to make it just exactly how I want it, instead of when I’m shopping for something and have to settle for what’s in the store.

My inspiration for this project was this pin on Pinterest. A sleeping bag for the girls dolls is perfect, it can lie in the dolls bed, and can be rolled up to travel with us when we visit grandparents!

Materials

1/2 yard outer fabric ( I used Michael Miller Children at Play Pink Hopscotch)

1/2 yard inner fabric (I used a minky from Joann Fabrics)

1/2 yard batting

3 yards of bias tape

thread

 

Pattern Materials

 

wrapping paper

straight edge

ruler

pencil

bowl

 

To start, I used my daughter’s existing doll bed quilt for measurements.  It is 12″ x 18′ (in the future I might extend this to 19″). I allotted for a 5/8″ seam and drew rectangles to represent the underside of the sleeping bag. I decided that the top of the bag would be 2/3 the length of the underside (12″) and that the most logical way to join them was by the foot of the sleeping bag.

In doing so I had to remember to leave a 5/8″ seam on both foot sides of the bag.

Once the rectangles were drawn, I cut out the pattern, then I used a bowl to make the corners rounded.

I drew the first corner, then folded the pattern in half lengthwise to copy the corner exactly. then unfolded that and refolded it width wise to copy the corner’s again.

Once the corners were cut out, I then pinned my pattern to the minky and cut it out.  Then I repeated with the hopscotch fabric and the batting.

 

 

 

I then pinned all three layers together as they would appear in the finished product.

 

Once all the layers are pinned, I used my new serger to sew all the layers, but you could just as easily use a sewing machine.

You could just sew the top and bottom together now, but I liked the quilted look so I sewed straight lines up and down the bag, using the hopscotch pattern as my spacing guide.

 

 

Next up, pinning the top and bottom together so that it now really looks like a sleeping bag.

 

Since I made two of these at the same time and I’ve never actually used bias tape, I had to guess and go with the process.  Lessons learned:

  1. start with the top of the upside of the bag, and work around the bottom of the bag and back to the top of the underside of the bag til you are back where you started.
  2. iron the tape in place before you sew.
  3. Also I believe I read something somewhere about something called wondertape that would help this stay in place better.

That’s it! Sleeping bags finished!

 

Rolled up, I think I'll add some ribbon so it can be tied like this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Tutorial | 18″ Doll Sleeping Bag”

  1. Clemencia December 18, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Thank You so much for this tutorial, I never sew but this doesn’t look that hard. Can’t wait to see what else you make for AG dolls. thanks again 🙂

    • MsMollyWhite December 18, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you! And yes, as long as you measure correctly, this is just a bunch of straight lines!

  2. henny January 11, 2012 at 4:44 am #

    you give me idea, thanks i love it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Handmade Christmas - January 2, 2012

    […] girls got only handmade items from us for Christmas this year too.  They each got the sleeping bags for their dolls, a bathrobe for them and one for the dolls, and then I had my cousin make them aprons for them and […]

  2. Oliver + S Messenger Bag from Little Things to Sew - January 3, 2012

    […] The best part of the bag is the bias trim. I made my own tape as per the directions and I love it! it’s also the first time I have correctly sewn bias tape on a project. As it turns out the correct way is much easier than the way I had done it on the doll sleeping bags. […]

  3. Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress by Isabelle - January 10, 2012

    […] That being said, I’m sad to say that I let my wild and crazy 5 year old dresser, select the material that would be used for the dress. Over Christmas, the Fat Quarter Shop ran several awesome sales, and I used it to buy some fun material for me and the girls. I could not resist this Timeless Treasure Retro Candy Dot fabric (Seems to have sold out at the fat Quarter Shop so the link is to an Ebay listing) for the girls as they love dot candy. I really had no idea how to incorporate it into a non costume outfit, but I was ready to try! And a while back a purchased some Sarah Jane for Michael Miller, Children at Play Pink Hopscotch fabric that I used to make the girls their American Girl Doll sleeping bags. […]

Leave a Reply

