Image

Christmas at The White House

29 Dec

With 8 grandparents and plenty of great aunts, uncles, and cousins, there’s lots of family for us to try and see on Christmas.  Since we moved to our current home, two+ years ago, we have all the grandparents come to us and it makes for a fabulous day!

It starts at 7am when my mother and step father arrive.  And this year we had the pleasure of having my sister’s boyfriend join us as well!  She sleeps here in Isabelle’s bed on Christmas eve.

We opened presents, enjoyed a nice breakfast and then they went home to get ready for the rest of the day.  We cleaned up, got food ready and rested for a bit before the next group arrived.

From about 11:30 til 4:30 we hosted Colin’s mom, dad, step-dad, step-mom, and brother and my dad, step-mom and step- sister.  The girls opened more presents than should be legally allowed and basked in the attention that was heaped upon them from every direction.

Then we cleaned up, and headed out to Colin’s brothers house, my mom’s sister’s house and my dad’s sister’s house.  Lelia passed out on the way to my mom’s sister’s and remained asleep as we carted her in and laid her on the couch, socialized, picked her back up, and drove to my other aunt’s, where she slept on her couch until we left at around 10pm.

It took all of Monday and part of Tuesday for us all to recover from the festivities.

It truly is my most favorite time of the year and I love every last second of Christmas day. However, come December 26th, the tree is too big, the lights too bright and the Christmas music is more than I can bear to hear. So today, I de-Christmasized our home and am enjoying the much less cluttered feeling that a lack of garlands dripping from every surface brings!

Ready to ring in the new year and get to work on my resolution: To sew most of my girls wardrobe and to make a good portion of mine as well! Already completed 2 coats for me and a dress for Lelia!

 

Leave a Reply

