Image

Handmade Christmas

2 Jan

This year I decided to make many of the gifts that we gave for Christmas. I’ve been meaning to write a post about what I made, now that Christmas has passed, but I’m struggling with the photo part of this effort.

 

First I made the girls Christmas dresses. The pattern is the Carla C Precious Dress, and the fabric is Tanya Whelan Darla. I also made them matching hair bows.

And then I went overboard, and made their dolls, the matching dress, sans bustle.

 

The girls got only handmade items from us for Christmas this year too.  They each got the sleeping bags for their dolls, a bathrobe for them and one for the dolls, and then I had my cousin make them aprons for them and their dolls.

The bathrobe is a Simplicity 5874 pattern with soft and cozy dotted minky from Joann’s.

I also made nightgowns for the girls and myself  using Grinch Flannel and the Butterick B5433 pattern, and matching PJ pants for my husband that went horribly awry and could not be worn. I thought i could sew them from memory instead of following the tutorial along like last time.  First I sewed 2 tiny legs instead of a waist, then I sewed one ginat leg and two crotch halves.  When I finally discovered that these errors were due to cutting errors not sewing, I fixed the problem, but by then the pants were too small to fit over his knees.  I sewed in panels and fixed it as best I could but in the process, the waist and crotch ended up short.  The end result was PJ pants that were obscenely tight and revealed more than a little plumbers butt.

I made my husband a log carrier, which turned out nicely, so I think it made up for the bad pants.

The kids and I made Christmas card wreaths and snowglobes for friends, family and teachers.  All of which were big hits!

It was nice to make so many things, and maybe next year, I’ll start everything sooner!

 

 
the Polkadot Chair

3 Responses to “Handmade Christmas”

  1. Sharm's Kitchen November 24, 2014 at 11:20 am #

    Hi there, the Christmas dresses with the ruffles are adorable, can I ask what sort of fabric you used? It looks like knit on my screen. Thanks heaps!

    • msmollywhite November 24, 2014 at 11:23 am #

      It is was a cotton quilting fabric not a knit. I don’t think I’d have the skills to make this in a knit 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ruffle Tiered Dress - January 7, 2012

    […] a dress sans pattern and it actually turned out how I wanted it too!  I used the top of the precious dress pattern and then took a dress that Lelia already had in her wardrobe from Old Navy to configure the bottom […]

Leave a Reply

