Image

Sewing for 2012

2 Jan

My resolution is to make as much of my wardrobe and my children’s wardrobe as I can in 2012. I started right after Christmas and have already completed a coat and jacket for myself and a little A-line jumper for Lelia.

Part of this process will be documenting it here, and I have to say, that’s almost harder than making the items!! I had my husband take pictures of me in the coat and jacket yesterday and they didn’t turn out well at all. So I have to start anew and try again.  It’s hard to take photos that make the items looks good!  Any way here’s the latest attempt at the photography.

 

This is the Carla C A Line Jumper with a fine whale corduroy I had left over from Halloween, and Michael Miller garden pindot fabric for the reverse.

 

I made a long fleece coat for myself from Vogue V8775 using a fleece from Joann’s.  I love it for when I’m wearing longer sweaters and skinny jeans or leggings!

 

The most difficult piece of have made to date is the Sandlewood Jacket by Amy Butler.  It had horizontal and vertical darts, is fully reversible, and has interfacing throughout.  Not to mention the contoured two piece sleeves and the sheer size of the jacket!  I am, however, IN LOVE With the final product! I used is Pernilla’s Journey by Tina Givens and I’m obsessed with it! The outside is Homestead Gardens in cotton candy and the Elephants on the inside, is called Elephant Run in Cotton Candy. I have a little of both left over and 3 whole yards of the Suzani in Lemon Creme that I’m dreaming up projects for.  I think it might be good for a pair of flowy drawstring pants.

4 Responses to “Sewing for 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Line for Iz - January 12, 2012

    […] Once again, I’m using the Carla C A-line Jumper Pattern for this dress.  It has got to be one of the more simple dresses to sew, I’m fairly sure I knocked this one out in under an hour. […]

  2. The Perfect Bag has Been Made! - January 23, 2012

    […] I can move on to MY own Spring Chevron Coat, I think I am going to take the Amy Butler Sandlewood Jacket pattern and turn it into a mid thigh length trench.  Either that or a collarless mid […]

  3. Chevron Trench Coat - February 1, 2012

    […] basis for the jacket is the Amy Butler Sandlewood Jacket pattern that I used to make my elephant coat.  I then used what I had learned sewing the Olivia Pea Coat from Peek-A-Boo Patterns for […]

  4. Handmade Valentine’s Day | A Lesson in How NOT to Sew - February 14, 2012

    […] doll got a blue dress that matches one of hers, some red undies, and brown shoes because Lelia says she doesn’t like pink.  Her dolly got […]

Leave a Reply

