Image

Oliver + S Messenger Bag from Little Things to Sew

3 Jan

Before we left for our weekend away, I spent Friday morning whipping up a purse for myself. I used leftover wool from my cape, and upcycled the strap from an old cross body bag that I had.

It was my first project from Oliver + S Little Things to Sew. I made the small messenger bag with a few changes. I left off the pocket covers and the inside pocket is sewn on the back side instead of the front.

That is due in part to the fact that I made some errors along the way and sewing it on the front became impossible. I sewed the lining incorrectly, so the inside has raw edges. I also must have cut a gusset out backwards, because I had two facing one direction instead of one in each direction.

The best part of the bag is the bias trim. I made my own tape as per the directions and I love it! it’s also the first time I have correctly sewn bias tape on a project. As it turns out the correct way is much easier than the way I had done it on the doll sleeping bags.

The bag is just the right size and fits my ipad nicely.  It’s the perfect thing to get me through the winter until I make a new one for our Florida trip. I’ve been designing the perfect bag in my head and it will take elements of this one with it!

2 Responses to “Oliver + S Messenger Bag from Little Things to Sew”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Test Bag - January 11, 2012

    […] weekend I decided to test part of it to see how it turns out.  I took part of the Oliver + S Messenger bag from Little Things to Sew and part of the {LBG Studios} 2 in 1 convertible clutch and combined them to make this bag.  I […]

  2. The Perfect Bag has Been Made! - January 21, 2012

    […] had made side pockets with the Oliver + S Messenger Bag, and I had seen a pleated bag called the Folklore bag in One Yard Wonders. And so that pattern was […]

Leave a Reply

