Chevron Coat for Spring

17 Jan

Thanks to Pinterest, I now know that zig zag stripes are officially called Chevron. And I’m obsessed with them. So when I saw this coat in Old Navy, I knew I had to make one in a yellow and white chevron print for my girls.

 

This required two things, a pattern and the fabric.  Not only did I find the fabric, but it was also in a heavier weight which I wanted.  It’s from Premier Prints on Fabric.com.  And the pattern I found at the Peek-a-boo Pattern Shop, it’s the Oliva Pea Coat. The only change I made was to add the hood.  I traced a hooded sweatshirt and used that for sizing. It’s just two head profile pieces sewn together basically.

I’m in lurve with the coat!  And look, my photo skills are improving! As are my photoshop skills, which is equally important!

7 Responses to “Chevron Coat for Spring”

  1. Emily January 17, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    Love the colors, the chevron, the contrasting buttons, and the hood you added. 🙂

  2. Amy January 28, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Thanks for linking up to my shop! You were one of my top traffic sources for the day and it was so fun to see how cute your coat turned out! Way to be inventive and figure out how to add the hood- looks great:)

  3. MsMollyWhite January 28, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Thank you Amy and Emily! Amy, I’m excited to test the Isabella pattern!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Serger’s in the Shop and Other News - January 18, 2012

    […] in the road when I sewed layers upon layers of midweight fabric together around the collar of the Spring Chevron Coat and so I took it into the shop for a little tuneup.  Sadly, I will be without it for at least a […]

  2. The Perfect Bag has Been Made! - January 21, 2012

    […] involves the Premier Prints ZigZag Yellow/White Fabric  from the Spring Chevron Coat […]

  3. Pattern Testing | Isabella Dress from Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop - February 2, 2012

    […]  I can’t remember how I found the pattern shop, but I did and she had the pattern for the Chevron coat that I made my […]

  4. Pattern Testing | Jackie Dress from Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop - February 9, 2012

    […] sewed my first collar with the Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop’s Olivia Pea Coat which I used for the Chevron Coat. And let me tell you, there is nothing to be afraid of, nothing at all. It’s like making a […]

Leave a Reply

