My Serger’s in the Shop and Other News

18 Jan

I feel like a piece of me is missing. My beloved serger, hit a snag in the road when I sewed layers upon layers of midweight fabric together around the collar of the Spring Chevron Coat and so I took it into the shop for a little tuneup.  Sadly, I will be without it for at least a week.

Not all was lost though because, my shop is located with a Joann Fabrics store and so I took some time to do a little bargain hunting.  I cam home with 5 patterns that were only 99 cents a piece and a bunch of remnant material that was 70% off!.

 

I got this gorgeous embroidered light weight white cotton fabric that’s going to make a gorgeous peasanty O Tunic dress with a square neck for one or both girls.  And almost a whole yard of some heavier weight white linen as well as some navy and white poly knits to play with when my serger comes home.

 

That patterns are all for me! Like Simplicity 2702

image from Joann.com

 

And this is going to be my adult version of the O Tunic: Simplicity Sewing Pattern 2147

Plus this way cool dress that I love for so many reasons, not the least of which is the oh so lovely maxi version!
Simplicity Sewing Pattern 2363

 

 

And finally, a Lisette pattern to try! Simplicity Sewing Pattern 2059

 

I’ve got big plans for these patterns!!! And the remnants!

Oh and I’m working on my first order EVER! Someone (my cousin, but still) is actually PAYING ME to make something! It’s a custom designed tote and wallet in fabrics that she chose! It’s really fun to do and I’m hoping to be able to finish it and share it by Friday!

 

Here’s a peek:

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “My Serger’s in the Shop and Other News”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pattern Review | Lisette Continental Blouse - February 3, 2012

    […] picked up the Lisette Continental Blouse, Skirt and Dress pattern at the Joann’s 99 cent pattern sale a couple weeks ago and as soon as I got my serger back, I got it out to sew my own tunic top […]

  2. Classic Shift from Lisette Continental Blouse Pattern - February 7, 2012

    […] over the weekend I was able to test out the pattern that I scooped up  for a maxi dress at the 99 cent Joann Pattern Sale, on a shorter version, and that turned out great […]

  3. Spring 2012 Sewing for Myself - March 10, 2012

    […] I created 2 dresses from Simplicity 2363 Pattern. A short version and a long version, both sleeveless. This pattern has many pieces that create the […]

Leave a Reply

