Chevron Trench Coat

1 Feb

This coat might just be my crowning achievement in my sewing career!  Not only did it turn out better than I could have ever anticipated, but I also adapted a pattern to construct it!

The basis for the jacket is the Amy Butler Sandlewood Jacket pattern that I used to make my elephant coat.  I then used what I had learned sewing the Olivia Pea Coat from Peek-A-Boo Patterns for Lelia’s Chevron Coat, to add a collar and extend the front panels.

I decided to use the sash option that comes with the jacket pattern and made it extra long, but this time around, I did not use interfacing. I felt that the 54” Wide Premier Prints ZigZag Slub Yellow/White Fabric By The Yard was of a heavy enough weight, that any extra stabilization would result in an overly stiff jacket. I want this to be my go to coat for Spring so I’d rather it be comfy.

I used Michael Miller Garden Pin Dot Carnation Fabric for the lining on the back and the arms, and as per the Olivia Pea Coat Pattern, I used more zig zag for the front panel lining, since when you fold it open the inside lining shows.

The jacket has darts at the back and the bust and then has an aline shape from the waist down.  A-lines are my dream shape as they conceal my less than lovely mid section and highlight my curves. I’m now desperately trying to figure out how to size this pattern to a dress because it’d make a beautiful dress for me!

 

Since the weather is so nice, I’ve already worn it several times.  Last night, a very fashionable friend of mine told me that she loved my coat and then asked me who’s it was, as in who was the designer!!!!!!  Yeah, she thought my hand sewn coat was a professionally made, brand name, article of clothing!!!!!

And that my friends, is all the fuel I need to keep up with this sewing adventure!

 

2 Responses to “Chevron Trench Coat”

  1. Janel @ Hating Martha February 15, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    This looks great! And the yellow and white chevron is very trendy!

    • MsMollyWhite February 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

