Pattern Testing | Isabella Dress from Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop

2 Feb

As I blog more and more about my sewing adventure, I also follow more and more sewing blogs. If they have a Facebook page than I follow that too. It’s a great way to keep up with the blogs and often, on Facebook you get more than just a link to the latest post. As is the case with Naptime Crafter, and her pattern shop, Peek-A-Boo Patterns. I can’t remember how I found the pattern shop, but I did and she had the pattern for the Chevron coat that I made my girls.

Anywho, she recently posted an adorable pic of a dress and asked for pattern testers. With those cute ruffles, I couldn’t resist!

photo from Peek-A-Boo Patterns Facebook page

I volunteered to test the pattern in the 3T or 5 and she took me up on the 3T.

As is the norm for PDF patterns, there were detailed instructions included with pictures of every step. I found finishing the armholes to be slightly tricky and this was the first zipper that I have sewn in a dress before, so that was an interesting experience. I hemmed and hawed over what fabrics to use to make the dress but settled on Michael Miller’s garden pin dots in Carnation and navy blue. It worked out as a great way to use up the last of the navy fabric and makes it a dress that she can wear now with either a sweater on top or a shirt underneath. Yeah for a a 4 season dress!

Lelia likes it and Isabelle has requested one as well. The basic construction of the dress is a simple A-line and then you slice up the front and insert ruffles. The sleeves are just another piece of the ruffled fabric. And the instructions for the zipper were great and made it less intimidating to try!

Thanks Amy, for letting me be a pattern tester, and for making such an adorable pattern!

As a side note, my mother commented that Lelia always looks messy and Isabelle always has a bow in her and looks nice when I take their pictures. That is because Isabelle is a ham and Lelia is shy so getting her to pose for the pictures is no easy task. I have to bribe her by letting her use my nice camera to snap my pic after she’s finished posing.

Today she was more cooperative and I got to style her hair and clean her face. But I still had to let her take my picture.


2 Responses to “Pattern Testing | Isabella Dress from Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop”

  1. Beth D. February 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Adorable! I love the pink. It really pops!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pattern Testing | Jackie Dress from Peek-A-Boo Pattern Shop - February 9, 2012

    […] same sleeve sewing technique was applied here as on the Isabella dress, and once again I don’t entirely get it. There must be an easier way to finish the sleeves. […]

Leave a Reply

