Classic Shift from Lisette Continental Blouse Pattern

6 Feb

Remember how I said I had simplified the back of the Lisette Continental Blouse and elongated the whole pattern to make a dress pattern?  Well this is the first iteration of that pattern!

It is a classic A-line shift, with darts.  It is seriously, my most favorite dress and shirt shape ever. Not too fitted so as to hide my middle, and thanks to the darts, it fits my bust line nicely, without bursting at the seams. For this particular version, I stuck with the oval -not quite boat-neck line and used one solid color fabric.  I found the fabric on clearance at Joann’s for a mere $6/yard and since it was a 58″ wide fabric, I used about 1/5 yards to make it.  So that means this lovely dress cost me about $9!!!

I wore it to an event for a client, The Heavy Seas AleHouse, and was complimented on it!  Woo hoo!

Colin and I at the Heavy Seas AleHouse

 

I can change the neckline and this will work as the basis for a tunic top, and if I add back in the gathered back detailing, will make for a nice cocktail dress, if I find the right fabric.

If I add cuffs to the long sleeves and some button detailing, that would be nice too.  Or shorten the sleeves and add color blocking.  There are so many possibilities for this dress, I’m super excited about it.

And over the weekend I was able to test out the pattern that I scooped up  for a maxi dress at the 99 cent Joann Pattern Sale, on a shorter version, and that turned out great too.

My handmade clothing collection is expanding nicely! And the freedom to create exactly what I want is ever more enticing.

The thing I’ve learned from this sewing adventure, is that it never hurts to try. I could really only sew in a straight line up until a couple months ago and now I can sew sleeves, and button holes and zippers and knits.  If you’re reading this and are thinking about busting out the sewing machine and giving it a whirl, or if you are sewing but haven’t tried things because it looks hard, just try it, and you’ll see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

