FBA AKA Full Bust Adjustment AKA My New BFF

1 Apr

So many good things going on in my little sewing world!

I finally placed an order for a bunch of knits from Girl Charlee.  I got 8 different fabrics for a total of almost 30 yards.  And spent $5 a yard or LESS!  The order arrived on Tuesday and I whipped up two creations before the end of the day on Wednesday!

And this shipment spurred me to clean up my sewing area and oh how nicely folded piles of fabric make me smile!

Knits on the left, quilting cotton on the right, fabric earmarked for kids or others on top

I broke into the striped sweatshirt knit first and sewed it into a chevron pattern before cutting out a dolman sleeve top and a maxi skirt.

Also I’ve discovered a wonderful camera app for my iphone called Camera Awesome.  It’s by Smugmug and it includes a self timer!

On Thursday, I had enough advance notice of a 99 cent Simplicity Pattern Sale at Joann’s that I scoured Simplicity.com and Pinned the 10 Patterns that I wanted.  The day of the sale, I got to the store mere minutes after it had opened and pulled all but 1 of my desired patterns.  Then I flipped through the Spring catalog to find a suitable substitute.  Just look at all the goodness I scored for $10!!

3 Lisette patterns, 2 Cynthia Rowley, and 5 additional.  Included are 4 pairs of pants, 14 shirts, 17 dress variations and 2 jackets.

On a separate shopping trip I picked up a little McCall’s pattern that was for a simple silhouette and promised the ability to alter it with ease.

Thank you Palmer and Pletsch for McCall’s Patterns M6355 ! You’ve changed my life. With one simple pattern, I learned enough about adjusting darts, to not only attempt it on the provided and fully marked pattern, but to also use is on one of my newly acquired Lisette patterns!

Here’s what the altered Palmer and Petsch pattern looks like.

I pinned the tissue together, held it up to me and cut accordingly.  Then I ironed the tissue onto freezer paper and made my new darts. Even still I was a little nervous with the outcome so I just made a simple short sleeved shift out of Heather Bailey’s Pop Garden Chevron.

And it worked!  So then I added some embellishments to the neck and hem in the way of some fancy stitching.

I feel like a new woman.  It is truly remarkable how much better these clothes fit when the darts are properly sized for my bust!

And upon having such success, I decided to try it out on my Lisette Traveler Shirt dress. And low and behold it worked too!  I also read up on the pattern and as per another reviewers remarks on PatternReview.com, I cut a larger skirt so that it was more gathered.

Other than the FBA and full skirt, I followed the pattern to a T and it is fits beautifully! I added a little striped grosgrain ribbon for a belt and will be sporting this for Easter!

2 Responses to “FBA AKA Full Bust Adjustment AKA My New BFF”

  1. Cindy April 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Love your Traveler shirt dress! It looks wonderful on you!

    • MsMollyWhite April 2, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m excited to wear it and pleased with how it turned out. The photos aren’t great, but it was an easy pattern to sew with very clear instructions. I will certainly be sewing more of them!

Leave a Reply

